Skip to main content

Sixth Form

1. Post 16 Education 2. Sixth Form 3. Search Local Sixth Forms

2. Sixth Form

Most schools in Lincolnshire provide a sixth form or a joint sixth form.  You can continue your studies in school working towards your A Levels or other qualifications.  Sixth form means one or two more years in a school setting.

Year 12 - this is also known as lower sixth and you will study for your AS Levels, normally in 3 or 4 subjects.

Year 13 - this is also known as upper sixth and you will study for your A Levels, normally in 3 subjects.

Some sixth forms are now offering BTEC or NVQs, which are normally more coursework based and some are more practical.  Your final grade will be equivalent to an AS or A Level, depending on the BTEC/NVQ level.

To study at sixth form, you usually need to be between 16 and 19 years of age.


< Previous

Next >

Post 16 Education
Search Local Sixth Forms
Back to top